Got This? Skip That: Essie Watermelon vs. China Glaze Heli-Yum

28 Jan

In case y’all bishes weren’t aware, Trade Secret is having a sale with lots of nail polishes 50% off. In my desperate search for OPI Black Shatter topcoat, I picked up Essie Watermelon, since it was 50% off and I wanted something to show for the 15 minute drive I made. Black Shatter, you will be mine.

Anyway, I got home and I got to looking at Watermelon and thinking, “Have we met before? You remind me of someone.” I pulled out one of my favorites, China Glaze Heli-Yum, from last year’s Up, Up & Away collection. I will tell you this: two of my nails have the Essie on them, and two don’t.

All you advertising nerds and 90s kids will love this: if you can’t tell, why should we? If you’ve got either of these polishes, there’s no need to get the other. Unless, you know, you’re into owning two identical colors from different brands. It comes down to whose brush and formula you like better. For me, it’s China Glaze; the brush is just long and wide enough to maneuver well (though I could’ve fooled you from the photo), and the formula is buttery smooth. Essie’s brush is too thin and stiff to work for me, and the formula is too watery for my liking.

I promise, I’ll be posting stuff that I actually like here real soon.

3 Responses to “Got This? Skip That: Essie Watermelon vs. China Glaze Heli-Yum”

  1. Dancingalien January 28, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    Pinky and Middle are the same.
    Ring and Pointer are the same.

    was I right?

    Awesome job so far, Patty.

    • Patty January 29, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

      Gary… you are blowing my mind. Yes, you’re right. I couldn’t even tell a difference, and trust me, I wanted to. But I’m also of the mind that if I have to look THAT HARD to tell the difference, I personally don’t need both. I know of people who collect nail polish and would have no problem owning dupes… you wouldn’t happen to be one of them, would you? :P Thanks!

  2. Laura August 6, 2011 at 12:59 am #

    Whew thanks for comps! I almost bought Watermelon when I have Heli Yum.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

