Wet ‘n’ Wild Gray’s Anatomy Review, Swatch

26 Jan

So I know this blog has makeup in its title, but I’m more of a general beauty aficionada. Nail polish has been a great love of mine since I picked out my first bottle at the tender age of 8. It was a sparkly navy blue in a squatty square bottle called Camaro. I don’t know what became of it, but it was the first in a long line of polishes I’ve come to know and love over the years. Basically, there will be polish on here, and it will be great. Moving right along.

Hype and I don’t really get along. I’m one of those people for whom the hype surrounding a certain entity, whether it be a band, a movie, or a product, really doesn’t do much to make me want it. In fact, a lot of hype and buzz more often than not turns me off. What can I say? I have hipster tendencies, every last one of which I loathe.

Naturally, when the nail board over at MakeupAlley was abuzz with praise for Gray’s Anatomy in the new-for-2011 Fast Dry line from Wet ‘n’ Wild, I didn’t think twice. Fast forward to a quick trip to Kmart and what do I see before me but all the 2011 offerings from Wet ‘n’ Wild, displays practically untouched. Luck of lucks! I ended up picking out a few of the new polishes, but I ended up getting the last two Gray’s Anatomys, one for myself (if I liked it) and one to swap on MakeupAlley. There seems to be some trouble finding these, and I always like to do a good makeup deed when I can, especially when it only costs $1.99.

Nail Goddess Divine Scrangie (if you’ve been sleeping on her blog, bless your heart) already has a pretty great post outlining how Gray’s Anatomy is a (good enough for me, at least) dupe of Deborah Lippmann Wicked Game. Dee-bo, you’re killing me. How are you gonna charge the same $18 price tag for polishes that take 5 coats to be opaque, as well as one-coater polishes?

Well. We won’t get into that. Let’s get to the main attraction. Say hello, darling readers, to Gray’s Anatomy, in this case named after the TV show Grey’s Anatomy, which in turn was named after the seminal medical text. The only thing I love more than puns? Puns on puns. Anyway…

The green flash is way more evident in the bottle than on my nail in this particular shot.

Here, the silver really comes out. All that delicious duochrome sits on/in a silver base, hence the Gray in the name. This is… oh lord. At least five coats (!!) plus Seche Vite top coat. It’s really quite sheer, which makes it good for layering, if you’re into that kind of thing. I’m a one-polish-and-go kind of girl myself, but you might get a little crazier with it. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. (I love Seinfeld for all time.)

Am I glad I own it? Yeah. Will I wear it again? Maybe, maybe not. Would I be heartbroken if I lost it? Not really. For $1.99, not bad at all. I could definitely make worse purchases for that price. I got mine at the mecca of classy shopping known as Kmart, but look for the new Wet ‘n’ Wild displays just about anywhere Wet ‘n’ Wild is sold.

One Response to “Wet ‘n’ Wild Gray’s Anatomy Review, Swatch”

  1. Kayli September 11, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    I fount that if you layer this over a black polish it only takes one coat for the color to stand out 🙂 Just so you know!!

Leave a Reply

